mapping your world as you've never seen it before - find out more at


Search for a map:

< Previous Map


Next Map >

Afrikaans is a language spoken mainly in South Africa (where it is one of the official languages) and the southern part of Namibia. It developed from Dutch, which had been taken there by settlers in the late 17th Century. Afrikaans had developed into a distinct language by the 19th century, although Afrikaans and Dutch are still largely mutually intelligible.

There are around 6 million speakers in total, in at least 12 territories.

Territory size shows the proportion of all people who speak Afrikaans as a first language that live in that territory.

population map Open Population Map for comparison

| Articles | Data | FAQ | News | RSS |

Sheffield University Logo University of Michigan Logo
The Geographical Association Logo
Center for the Study of Complex Systems logo Society of Cartographers logo
The Leverhulme Trust Logo